Our Chapter History



The members of Lambda Tau Omega are proud to celebrate a legacy of 40 years of service to all mankind. We extend to members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® a sisterly welcome to come join with the sorors of Lambda Tau Omega and rekindle that old AKA spirit. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®, Lambda Tau Omega Chapter continues to uphold the wonderful legacy of our illustrious organization. Since our chartering in 1978, we have been active within the South Suburban Chicago community. We have hosted numerous community service, educational, and social programs in order to improve the social stature of people both within and outside of our community. Through our foundation, Twenty Pearls Foundation, Incorporated, we contribute to the South Suburban Chicago community through scholarships and other philanthropic programs that enhance the health, welfare and educational development of individual youths and families.

The year 1976 not only commemorated the 200th birthday of America, but it also marked the beginning of what was to become Lambda Tau Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®.The nucleus was comprised of six Alpha Kappa Alpha women who resided in the far south suburban communities of Chicago. The first meeting, organized by Anita Walker and Beverly Roseborough, attracted sorority sisters who, likewise, agreed upon the feasibility of forming a local interest group, Far South Suburban Associates of Alpha Kappa Alpha.

The officers were Anita Walker, President; Ruby Campbell, Vice President; Tamyra Johnson, Secretary; and Janie Cooper, Treasurer.

As Far South Suburban Associates of Alpha Kappa Alpha grew in number, it grew in confidence and determination in realizing its goal of becoming an alumnae chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Through months of planning and hard work, the number of Sorors increased to 18. On February 26, 1978, the aspirations of the 18 members of the Far South Suburban Associates of Alpha Kappa Alpha became a reality.

Charter Members

Ethel T. Brown*, Willene Buffett, Ruby Campbell, Audrey Carter*, Janie Cooper, Bessie Flint, Carolyn Hutton, Tamyra Johnson-Spight*, Lois Merritt, Maxine Morgan, Jeanette W. Rogers*, Beverly Roseborough, Jacqualine F. Scott*, Constance Shorter, Gertrude Tandy, Anita Walker, Carol Washington, and Yvonne West

*Still active in the chapter

Our Current Chapter Roster

Former Chapter Presidents 

Twenty Pearls Foundation, Incorporated

Twenty Pearls Foundation Inc., was established and registered as a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization in Illinois in March 2001. It's purpose is to provide scholarships and conduct programs to enhance the health, welfare and educational development of individuals and families in the Far South Chicagoland Community. Read More >>